SSGT Chairperson, Anna Lee has over 40 years experience of working in the not for profit sector in Ireland with people and communities at risk of poverty and social exclusion. Anna was educated in the University of East Anglia (BA Social Science) and the University of Birmingham (CQSW) and worked as a social worker in the London Borough of Southwark before coming to work in Dublin in 1975. She worked with Cherish and the ISPCC before moving to work in Tallaght in 1986 managing a 2nd EU Poverty Programme project and from 1991 the Tallaght Partnership (now South Dublin County Partnership). Anna retired from her role as CEO of the South Dublin County Partnership in 2014.

Anna has contributed to the development of policy and practice at local, county and national level including chairing Tallaght Drugs Task Force for 6 years, the South Dublin County Local and Community Development Committee (LCDC) and the Combat Poverty Agency (1995-2001).  Anna has written about local and community development and the community / voluntary sector.

Since her retirement from the Partnership Anna has maintained her voluntary commitments including to St Stephen’s Green Trust.

 Jordan Campbell has worked in the Irish non-profit sector since 2005. Originally from South Carolina, Jordan earned an undergraduate degree in French, Political Science and Chemistry before completing a master’s in International Peace Studies at Trinity College Dublin and, later, a post-graduate diploma in Public Relations at the European Institute of Communications. Jordan currently oversees communications and business development activities for the Dublin Rape Crisis Centre. She previously worked as Grants Director at The Ireland Funds, as well as for Philanthropy Ireland and for Suas.  

Dr Avila Kilmurray works with the Social Change Initiative (SCI) with a focus on peacebuilding, philanthropy and refugee/migrant rights.  A native of Dublin, Avila has lived and worked in Northern Ireland since 1975.  She has a long history of activism in the community movement, the Women’s Movement and in social justice causes.  Avila held the position of Director of the Community Foundation for Northern Ireland (1994-2014). She had previously overseen a EU Anti-{Poverty programme in rural areas (1985-1989) and served as the first Women’s Officer for the ATGWU (now Unite) in Ireland. (1989-1994).  Avila holds a BA (History & Politics) University College Dublin; an MA (International Relations) from Australian National University and completed a PhD (Institute of Governance) in Queens University Belfast, where she was later awarded a Hon. Doctorate in Social Science and was awarded a Hon. Professorship with the Mitchell Institute for Global Peace, Security & Justice.  Avila has long been involved with a range of peacebuilding initiatives as a founder member of the Northern Ireland Women’s Coalition in 1996 and serving on the Coalition’s Negotiating Team for the Good Friday/Belfast Agreement. As Director of the Community Foundation for Northern Ireland Avila also managed a number of measures in support of victims/survivors, political ex-prisoners and grassroots work under the EU PEACE Programmes (1995-2014).  Avila has written extensively on community action, peacebuilding and women’s rights. She has published a book – ‘Community Action in a Contested Society: The Story of Northern Ireland’ (Peter Lang, 2016) ; ‘Conflict-Affected Environments: Notes for Grantmakers’ – ( and co-edited ‘Peacebuilding, Conflict and Community Development’ (Policy Press, 2023).

Mary Murphy is Head of Department and Professor in the Department of Sociology,  Maynooth University, with research interests in ecosocial welfare, gender, care  and social security, globalisation and welfare states, and power and civil society. She co-edited The Irish Welfare state in the 21st Century Challenges and Changes (Basingstoke, Palgrave, 2016) and authored  Creating an Ecosocial Future (Policy Press, May 2023).    An active advocate for social justice and gender equality, she was appointed to the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission (2013-217) and is currently a member of the Council of State in Ireland.

Back to Top